Promotion and Relegation 2019-20

As the non-league structure moves towards a more symmetrical pyramid for season 2020-21 the following promotions and relegations will apply for Season 2019-20:-

Premier Division

Top team automatically promoted to Step 4.

Second placed team will be promoted to Step 4 if one of the 4 highest positioned teams (on a points per game basis) across the 11 most southerly based Step 5 leagues. If not one of the 4 highest positioned teams then the second paced team will have a play-off match against one of the bottom placed Step 4 teams with the winner securing a Step 4 place and the loser to play at Step 5 in 2020-21.

The bottom team will be relegated unless it is one of the two highest positioned teams (on a points per game basis) across the 14 Step 5 leagues.

First Division North and South

Top 4 teams from each division automatically promoted to Step 5. This can probably be defined as top 4 eligible teams.

Bottom 2 teams in each division liable to relegation to Step 7.


With an increase in the number of Step 5 leagues from 2020-21 and a decrease in the number of Step 6 leagues it is likely that the footprints of the Thurlow Nunn League divisions will be slightly changed.

League Constitutions 2019/20

The Thurlow Nunn League AGM was informed that the 2019/20 constitutions for the Premier and the two First Divisions remain as previously advised by the FA but were subject to clarification on some outstanding issues.

The 2019/20 constitutions for the Reserve and Youth Leagues were agreed as follows:-

Cornard United
Diss Town
Framlingham Town
Hadleigh United
Halstead Town
Long Melfod
Mildenhall Town
Saffron Walden Town
Stowmarket Town
Thetford Town
Walsham le Willows
Whitton United
Wivenhoe Town
Woodbridge Town
Felixstowe & Walton United
Framlingham Town
Hadleigh United
Ipswich Wanderers
Needham Market
Stowmarket Town
Whitton United
Woodbridge Town
AFC Royals
Beccles Town
Bungay Town
Diss Town
Great Yarmouth Town
Kirkley & Pakefield
Norwich United
Waveney Youth
CSF Canaries
Dereham Town
Easton & Otley College
Fakenham Town
FDL Rangers
Mulbarton Wanderers
North Walsham Town
Swaffham Town
Bury Town
Cambridge City
Haverhill Rovers
Mildenhall Town
Newmarket Town
Royston Town
Saffron Walden Community Youth
Walsham Le Willows
AFC Sudbury
Brantham Athletic
Brightlingsea Regent
Cornard United
Halstead Town
Holland FC
Little Oakley
Long Melford
Sporting 87
Stanway Rovers
Witham Town
Deeping Rangers
Ely City
Godmanchester Rovers
Holbeach United
Kings Lynn Town
 March Town United
Peterborough Sports
St Ives Town
St Neots Town
Wisbech St Mary

League Presentation Evening Photos

Pictures from the League’s recent Dinner and Dance Presentations are below, with presentations being made by Simon Grylls of Thurlow Nunn.

Pictures by Andy Bourne Photography

Histon – League Champions
Woodbridge Town – League Runners-up
Long Melford – League Challenge Cup Winners
Fakenham Town – League Challenge Cup Runners-up
Swaffham Town – First Division North Champions
Hashtag United – First Division South Champions
Harleston Town – First Division North Runners-up
Coggeshall United – First Division South Runners-up
Harleston Town – First Division KO Cup Winners
Holland – First Division KO Cup Runners-up
Frenford – Integrity Award
Stowmarket Town Reserves – Reserve League Champions
Halstead Town Reserves – Reserve League Runners-up and Chell Trophy Winners

2019/20 Club Allocations Announced by FA

The FA have announced club allocations for Season 2019/20 (subject to any appeals).

The Premier Division sees the return of three teams – Mildenhall Town (from the Bostik League), Swaffham Town (promoted from First Division North) and Stanway Rovers (from the Essex Senior League).

First Division North sees one new team – Sheringham from the Anglian Combination and two teams relegated from the Premier Division – Great Yarmouth Town and Framlingham Town. Harleston Town have not been included as they did not meet the Ground Grading requirements within the stipulated time period, although it is understood that they will be appealing the FA’s decision.

First Division South includes two teams new to the league. Barkingside and Leyton Athletic are both joining from the Essex Senior League

AFC Sudbury Retain Youth League Championship

Congratulations to AFC Sudbury Youths who won the Thurlow Nunn Youth League Championship for the third successive season after defeating Walsham le Willows 2-0 in the final at Diss Town on Friday evening.

Two late goals from Freddie King and Nathan Read secured the trophy.

Youth Championship Final on Friday

Friday sees the final match of the season when AFC Sudbury and Walsham le Willows play each other in the Youth Championship Final at Diss Town FC.

Th two Suffolk sides topped their respective Youth League Divisions and have won through to the Championship Final at the expense of the other divisional winners Dereham Town, Gorleston, Peterborough Sports and St Neots Town

Kick off at Brewers Green Lane is 7.30pm.