Bourne Town

SecretaryTony Hull 07709 785273
Programme Editoras Secretary

ManagerSimon Daws
GroundJJ Mac Stadium, Abbey Lawn, Abbey Road, Bourne, Lincolnshire, PE10 9EN
Midweek matches –
ColoursClaret & Blue shirtsBlue shortsBlue socks
Change ColoursBlue shirtsBlue shortsBlue socks



Formed in 1883 Bourne Town played all its early football in the Peterborough League winning the Championship for the first time in 1933/1934 and then immediately following the second World War in successive seasons 1945/46/47. It was during this period after the war when the nickname “The Wakes” came into being. A competition organized by the club offered a prize of £5 for the most suitable nickname for the team.

This success heralded improved status, with the club gaining admission to the United Counties League, but success eluded the Abbey lawn Club. Finishing in the top half of the table only twice and five times in the bottom two places over a nine year period resulted in a return to the Peterborough League for two seasons.
Next stop was the Central Alliance League and in 1959/60 manager Sit Ottewell and his players brought the first non – league championship to the Abbey Lawn. The next season the Lincolnshire ‘B’ trophy was added to the silverware. In 1961 the club entered the newly re- formed Midland League but after only four years returned to the United Counties League for an unbroken 48 year period.

The period between 1968 and 1972 brought unprecedented success under the managership of Terry Bates and chairmanship of Wilf Notley. Three United Counties Football League Championships, United Counties Football League Knock out Cup, Lincolnshire Senior Cup ‘A’, the RAFA Cup (twice), Scarber Cup (twice) as well as cup successes for the Reserves all came to the Abbey Lawn

Player Manager Mark Mitchell assembled a quality team to bring the United Counties Football League Championship back to the Abbey Lawn in 1990/91 completing the ‘double’ by winning the United Counties League Benevolent Cup. Runners up in the Evans Halshaw Floodlit Cup completed a remarkable season.

In January 2004 Mr. Len Pick died at the age of 94.He was a lifelong supporter of Bourne Town Football Club and was President and Patron of the club. In his Will Len left a substantial amount of money to the club to be used to enhance the future of his beloved Wakes. It was not to be used for paying players and as a consequence the Management Committee decided to rebuild the Clubroom which had stood since 1969 and was beginning to look decidedly shabby. This was eventually finished in 2006 and is known as ‘The Len Pick Suite’ The building has no doubt improved the image of the club and it may be hired, together with the club bar, for private functions.

Bourne Town joined the Eastern Counties League First Division for Season 2021/22.


  • United Counties League 1968/69, 1969/70, 1971/72, 1990/91
  • United Counties League Knockout Cup 1969/70
  • Lincolnshire Senior Cup ‘A’ Winners 1971/72
  • Central Alliance Division One (South) 1959/60
  • United Counties Benevolent Cup 1990/91
  • Lincolnshire F.A. Intermediate Cup 1985/86
  • U.C.L Reserve Div 2
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close